“Tax Season: Taking Account” on Lady Clever

photo

The following is an excerpt from my piece “Tax Season: Taking Account” as seen on Lady Clever:

It’s here again — this familiar melancholic moment: Knees bent unforgivingly over the wooden floor of my living room, brows furrowed in mean concentration, shoulders pinched together in a manner sure to give me medical problems later in life – a permanent hunchback, a crushed vertebrae, some ailment my mother tried to warn me about that I, as her daughter, dutifully ignored. My hands move tiny crumples of paper from one pile to the next, organizing the last 365 days of my life into monetized memories.

Click here to read more.

Standard

Leave a Reply

